Inner city cottage in close to beach, shopping, restaurants; arts and parks

Inner city cottage in close to beach, shopping, restaurants; arts and parks

Alexandra

Último acceso

Más de un mes

Desde

julio 2006


¿Quieres ponerte en contacto con este miembro?

Inicia tu período de prueba gratis de dos semanas para empezar a hablar con otros miembros.

Envia tu primer mensaje

¿Te gusta lo que estás viendo? Ponte en contacto con este miembro para ver cuándo su casa está disponible

Sugiere la fecha


Escribe un mensaje

No disponible

No disponible

Añadidasa  la lista de favoritos

Esta casa está en tu lista de favoritos. Para acceder a tus favoritos haz clic en el icono de navegación

Add to shortlist

This home is not yet in your shortlist

2 Dormitorios
Número de personas 3
1 baños
Traducir esta página a otro idioma

Acerca de nuestra casa

Our home is ideal for a couple or a couple with one child, as there is a small extra bedroom we use as a den. This is compact but has a comfortable double bed.
The house has lots of light, a small front garden as well as a private secure garden, both recently landscaped. Garden care would only necessitate turning on the watering system and perhaps handwatering a couple of pot plants. Decking and an outside dining setting make
the backyard a great outdoor living room.
Polished floorboards, country-kitchen style cork flooring and a scattering of persian rugs makes the house retain the feel of a cottage and is very much a home in which to be comfortable. Furnished with an eclectic mix of Australian and Asian antiques, the emphasis is on books, music and pictures.
The main bedroom is tranquil with a comfortable queen-sized bed. The large front room with high old-fashioned windows facing east onto the front garden is used as a study by both of us. I have my computer workstation here for my artwork - use of the highspeed Mac can be negotiated.
Otherwise, there's a large antique writing desk and a couch - nice for doing the crossword in the morning sunshine.
The sitting room is smaller but very comfortable. It's a pleasant room we use for listening to music or when we want to sit around a fire in winter. Two couches; a working fireplace; a Cable TV and VCR player with a great selection of videos. Lots of books throughout the house if you want to curl up and just read.

Características y accesibilidad

Más sobre nosotros

  1. Ross (66) is a teacher of English and Literature at a private school for boys. Alexa (50) used to teach art and graphic design but is now doing her own creative artwork and part time study in counselling.
    Ideally, we are looking for a city where we can walk safely rather than need a car, be residents rather than tourists and enjoy day-to-day living in your unique neighbourhood as much as formal sightseeing.

    As our house is so close to excellent public transport, we don't bother to run a car in the city. It's possible to have all groceries home delivered and we have a local reliable and cheap car hire a couple of blocks away for any time we want a day or weekend out of Melbourne.

    We are looking for a non-simultaneous exchange for about five weeks
    at the end of 07/beginning 08.

Mi disponibilidad

White
Quiero recibir ofertas
Green
Disponible
Red
No disponible

Ubicación

Barrio/zona

Melbourne is a multi-cultural city with a range of individual neighbourhoods to explore; ethnic restaurants and local wines; and parks, river and beach to enjoy in our summer weather. Summer has a number of special events including the Australian Tennis Open and cricket. Autumn/Winter are nowhere as cold as in most European/North American countries: we complain if the temperature drops below 10 degrees but it is certainly never cold enough to snow in central Melbourne.
We live in a turn-of-the-century (1910) “ Federation” style, brick house: one – of – a – pair in a quiet street in the inner city seaside suburb of St.Kilda. St.Kilda is full of life throughout the week, with bakeries; delicatessens; restaurants where people sit at pavement tables, drink endless coffees and/or wine and watch the everchanging parade of passersby.
St.Kilda is one of the most popular inner city districts in Melbourne and we are only 20 minutes’ walk away from Acland Street and the beach. 20 Minutes’ walk (or 10 mins’ tram-ride) in the opposite direction and you are in Chapel Street; eclectic fashion/homeware shops and the gay scene.
We shop in our other local shopping centre which is the European style shopping area of Carlisle Street.
The centre of the city is only 20 minutes tram-ride away, with trams 2mins walk from our front door. The city offers parks with open-air theatre and music; stunning Botanic Gardens, the River and Docklands as well as endless shopping.

También te puede gustar